© CYNTHIA ST. CLAIR
 




牧峰访谈
英国古典音乐网,2002年8月30日

华盛顿州立大学的牧峰攻克贝多芬的毕生作品
西雅图时报, 2003年1月3日

本州音乐家们在台湾教学拓展了视野
西雅图时报, 2002年12月22日


牧峰访谈


采访:罗伯特·巴莱特 - 古典音乐网 (英国)2002年8月30日

巴莱特: 牧峰, 你可以告诉我你的家庭背景吗?

牧峰: 我的家庭在美国大约已有八到十代人了 。我基本上是苏格兰和英国的后裔, 也有一些爱尔兰, 德国和波兰血液。我的父亲是最近87岁时去世的, 我的母亲现在是85岁。今年11月底,我就57岁了[2004 年10月11月更新]。我有二个兄弟, 一个哥哥, 一个弟弟。他们俩都是商人。

你的早期教育是什么形式的?

我的教育是普通的,(美国的公立学校) 经由中学后, 我继续到费城的科第斯学院(Curtis)学习三年,然后到纽约的朱莉亚(Juilliard)音乐学院学习三年, 后在朱莉亚音乐学院获得理科学士和音乐硕士。

你的音乐老师们是谁?

在科第斯, 我的老师是Eleanor·Sokoloff (现在90 岁了)[2004 年10月更新]。在朱莉亚音乐学院, 是Sascha·Gorodnitzki 。当我在万宝路音乐节,我与Rudolf·Serkin学习过。我从朱莉亚音乐学院毕业后,我在伦敦和纽约与Ilona·SKabos学习过,在伦敦与Clifford·SCurzon 爵士学习过。

在美国和英国或欧洲,音乐教学上有什么基本差别吗?如果是这样,差别是什么?你认为为什么会有如此差别?

你知道, 也须在许多年以前或许有些区别, 但在今天,这个国家和所有欧洲国家的老师都是来自许多不同的背景和国籍,我不认为在普通教育风格上有太大的区别。我认为,如果说有某个国家的艺术家具有某种品质,主要是他们成长环境的因素,而不是具体的老师。
 

全文的英文访谈在此


华盛顿州立大学的牧峰攻克贝多芬的毕生作品

作者:美林达·巴格林   西雅图时报音乐评论家
2003年1月3日日

贝多芬的32首奏鸣曲屹立在哪儿就像是珠穆朗玛峰一样。

钢琴演奏家们都无法抑郁要征服所有的高峰,这不仅仅是因为他们屹立在那里,而是因为这些奏鸣曲将贝多芬一生的作曲生涯表现成,为他所熟知和热爱的乐器所做的一系列奇妙的、不可思议的作品。这里有他早期的 ,还思考着海顿和莫扎特所做的奏鸣曲。也有他后期的奏鸣曲,此时他也许正孤独地思考着天堂(要不然怎么解释槌子键琴奏鸣曲呢?)。

对于钢琴家牧峰来说,他刚刚开始演奏的贝多芬的全部32首奏鸣曲更是一个极具价值教学工具。(靡丽剧院,7点30分)

“我认为任何一个认真严肃的老师都应该将他们全部演奏出来。第二,我非常地热爱贝多芬。第三,我觉得演奏这样大的作品就如同是一面镜子,从中看到一个独特艺术家的天才和灵魂发展的一生历程,在某种角度,是一面镜子映出我们自己一生个人成长 的历程。我将生命看成是一个变化的过程,没有任何人能比贝多芬更好的展现这个旅程。”...

请在西雅图时报网站阅读英文采访全文


本州音乐家们在台湾教学拓展了视野

2002年12月22日

教学的过程对最好的老师们来说就是一个学习的过程。在上个月对于大提琴家Cordelia Wikarski-Miedel和钢琴家牧峰来说,就是如此。他们在国立台湾艺术学院的讲学使他们了解到现在台湾顶尖艺术院校的高材生们能够做到什么。

对于亚裔古典音乐家们的一贯偏见完全没有了 -- 亚裔古典音乐家通常被认为技术上很优秀、但艺术表现力上较欠缺。Wikarski-Miedel说这些16到23岁的学生们 能在一个‘很高,准专业’的水平演奏,他们中的一些年轻学生极有可能进入高层次的音乐生涯。

牧峰说:“这些台湾的演奏者们表现了很好的气质。他们不仅仅是技术家。他们很好的表现了自己。”

Wikarski-Miedel和牧峰被邀请前来国立台湾艺术学院举办大师班 讲座和举行音乐会。Wikarski-Miedel在Puget Sound大学教授小提琴和室内乐。牧峰是华盛顿州立大学全职艺术家。两人都是当地著名的独奏表演家。

德国出生的Wikarski-Miedel在慕尼黑国际二重奏竞赛中(与她钢琴家的姐姐Eleonore·Wikarski合作)获得大奖后,开始了她 的国际音乐生涯,后来成为已故音乐家Rainer·Miedel的妻子,来到了西雅图。Rainer·Miedel是西雅图交响乐团的音乐指导。

牧峰在利兹国际钢琴竞赛中名列Murray·Perahia之后获得第二名,与世界上最著名的交响 乐团都合作过,并在世界各地举办音乐会。他在来到西雅图之前,长期生活在英国。...

请在西雅图时报网站阅读英文采访全文




 


首页 | 简历 | 评论 | 保留曲目 | 唱片目录 | 音乐会日程 | 访谈 | 照片 | 联系


© 2008 Craig Sheppard. 版权所有

© CYNTHIA ST. CLAIR
 




Record Geijutsu; Tokyo: Interview with Craig Sheppard
by Daisuke Hirose, PhD. Oct 2009

Beethoven from A(usgelassen) to Z(art): A Conversation with Pianist Craig Sheppard,
Jerry Dubins, Fanfare Sep/Oct 2005

UW's Craig Sheppard tackles Beethoven's life work,
The Seattle Times, January 03, 2003

Craig Sheppard Interview
MusicWeb UK - Classical Music Web, August 30, 2002

State musicians expand horizons on Taiwan residency
The Seattle Times, August 30, 2002


Craig Sheppard Interview
By Rob Barnett, MW - Classical Music Web
August 30, 2002


Barnett: Craig, can you tell me something about your family background?

Sheppard: My family have been in the United States for the most part for eight to ten generations. I am basically of Scots and English lineage, with some Irish, German, and Polish blood as well. My father died recently at the age of 87, my mother is 85. I will turn 57 at the end of November [update October, 2004]. I have two brothers, one older, one younger. Both are businessmen.

What form did your early schooling take?

I did normal schooling (in the USA, public schools) through secondary school, whereupon I went to the Curtis Institute in Philadelphia for three years and then on to the Juilliard School in New York for another three, earning both Bachelors of Science and Masters of Music at the latter institution.

Who were your music teachers?

At the Curtis, my teacher was Eleanor Sokoloff (now 90 years old) [update October, 2004]. At Juilliard, it was Sascha Gorodnitzki. I worked privately with Rudolf Serkin when I was at Marlboro. After my Juilliard years I worked with Ilona Kabos in both London and New York and Sir Clifford Curzon in London.

Are there any generic differences between music teaching in the USA and in the UK or Europe. If so what are they and what do you put these differences down to?

You know, there might have been differences many years ago, but today, teachers in this country and all the European countries are from so many different backgrounds and nationalities that I cant believe the differences in generic teaching styles to be that great from country to country. The reason artists from a particular country exhibit certain traits would have more to do, in my view, with the general environment theyve grown up in, and not their specific teachers.

read full interview


UW's Craig Sheppard tackles Beethoven's life work
By Melinda Bargreen, Seattle Times music critic
January 03, 2003

They stand there like Mount Everest, those 32 piano sonatas of Ludwig van Beethoven.

And concert pianists can't resist surmounting them all, not just because they're there but because they distill Beethoven's compositional lifetime into a series of miraculously achieved works for the instrument he knew and loved best. There are the early sonatas, written when Beethoven was still thinking about Haydn and Mozart. There are the later sonatas, when Beethoven was thinking about heaven alone knows what (how else do you account for the "Hammerklavier" Sonata?).

For pianist Craig Sheppard, who launches his complete cycle of all 32 sonatas Tuesday (7:30 p.m., Meany Theater), the sonatas are extra valuable as teaching tools.

"I feel it's incumbent upon any serious teacher to have played them all. Secondly, I adore Beethoven. Thirdly, I feel that coming to grips with such a magnum opus is a mirror into a lifetime's development of a unique artistic genius and soul and, in a way, mirrors our own individual developments. I see life as a transformative process, and there is nobody who personifies this journey better than Beethoven." ...

read full interview at SeattleTimes.com


State musicians expand horizons on Taiwan residency
By Melinda Bargreen, Seattle Times music critic
December 22, 2002

For the best teachers, the process of teaching also is a process of learning. This was emphatically the case last month for cellist Cordelia Wikarski-Miedel and pianist Craig Sheppard, whose residency at the Taiwan National College of the Arts taught them what can be accomplished these days by top students in Taiwan's new, elite conservatory.

Out went all the old stereotypes about Asian classical musicians that they're technically excellent but artistically somewhat repressed. These students, aged 16-23, played at what Wikarski-Miedel calls "a very high, pre-professional level," and their ranks include some young players who just might go on to high-level musical careers.

Sheppard adds: "These Taiwanese players show a lot of temperament. They aren't merely technicians. They express themselves."

Wikarski-Miedel, who teaches cello and chamber music at the University of Puget Sound, was invited to give master classes and concerts at the Taiwan National College of the Arts with Sheppard, a University of Washington faculty artist. Both are well-known soloists here.

After launching her international career as winner (with her pianist sister Eleonore Wikarski) of the Munich International Duo Competition, the German-born Wikarski-Miedel later came to Seattle as the wife of the late Rainer Miedel, Gerard Schwarz's predecessor as music director of the Seattle Symphony. Sheppard, who placed second to Murray Perahia in the Leeds International Piano Competition, has played with many of the world's great orchestras and concertized around the world; he was based in the United Kingdom for several years before coming to Seattle. ...

read full interview at SeattleTimes.com




 


Home | Biography | Reviews | Repertoire | Discography | Concerts | Interviews | Photos | Contact


© 2008 Craig Sheppard. All Rights Reserved